❤️ Period Cravings

Happy High Noon (EST). The Open Journal series is LIVE in this newsletter. Keep the questions and stories coming by commenting on our satisfactory poll.

Today’s Topics:

  • Your Monthly Cravings: we can help with that.

  • Open Journal: small changes.

  • Tidbits & Recipes: your feet.

  • Did You Know: The power of self-talk.

Your Monthly Cravings

I don't know about you but when I'm about to get my period my cravings are through the roof. I try to resist but there's only so much a person can handle before giving in.

Eventually, I give in and end up feeling guilty. Like, why do I have no self-control?

But because I'm a bit of a nut, I dug into the reason why this happens and it helped me so hopefully it will help you too.

Turns out, during the luteal phase of your cycle your body is more insulin resistant. And that can increase your appetite and cause cravings.

To help with your cravings, try to eat complex carbs, protein, and fiber like:

  • Sweet potatoes

  • Leafy greens

  • Fish

  • Dark chocolate

This should help curb your cravings and help you feel more like yourself. Try your best to avoid excess caffeine and sugary foods. If you end up giving in to your cravings, remember, this phase doesn't last forever. Shoot for your next meal to be nutrient-dense.

Open Journal

Q: I have always struggled with my weight. For the first time in a long time, I feel headed in the right direction. I'm focused on small changes and portion control and am down 30 lbs. I know I can stick with this. Just wanted to say thanks for doing this because I love being able to open them every day!

A: We're pumped to have you here and to hear about your progress. It sounds like your consistency is paying off. Keep that positive mindset because it looks good on you! Don't forget to celebrate along the way.

Learn to Scramble Well(ness):

While eating your lunch, waiting for your lunch, or letting go of your lunch, try our wellness-themed word scramble. It's one word a day, and you can find the answer at the bottom of this newsletter - good luck!

CINVAGRS

Did You Know? Like Really Know…

Your self-talk is impacting your workout effectiveness.

Research shows that people who use negative self-talk during workouts have decreased endurance and overall performance.

So tell that friend who is always putting themselves down to add some positive self-talk into their workout routine.

Or maybe that friend is you!

Use this as your gentle reminder to pump yourself up during your workout to boost your motivation, endurance, and overall effectiveness.

Tidbits & Recipes:

Your feet can serve as early indicators of serious health problems like diabetes, nerve damage, poor blood circulation, and arthritis.

Want a quick and healthy meal? Just pair grilled chicken or fish with your favorite sauce and some quinoa. Look up easy sauce recipes like tomato or pesto-based ones. Make them in big batches and freeze for convenient, ready-to-go meals anytime. Here are some ideas.

Today’s Top Workout Song on Spotify

Scramble Answer:

CRAVINGS

Reply

or to participate.