❤️ I'm a hypocrite

Happy High Noon (EST). Are you enjoying these emails? If so, we need your help.

Share Flobody Bite on any social channel and you will have a chance to win a $250 Amazon card. We are giving multiple away 😃

It’s almost shopping season so an Amazon card wouldn’t be the worst thing…

We can search the link and find your post so don’t worry. If it makes you feel better, tag us.

Most of you are thinking… hmm what are my odds of actually winning? Well, pretty good since getting people to share anything these days is like pushing a boulder up a hill on roller skates. Even if they love what you are doing.

Here’s the link for you to share on your social channels:

https://flobodybite.beehiiv.com/

Just highlight it, copy it, paste it, and share it. It’s that easy. What’s cool is they can see our previous newsletters and see if it’s actually something they’ll love.

Onward…

Today’s Topics:

  • I’m a Hypocrite: note to self - practice what you preach!

  • Open Journal: How to handle burnout.

  • Tidbits & Recipes: please send help.

  • Did You Know: swearing good.

I’m a Hypocrite:

I've been a bit of a hypocrite lately. Ok, maybe a lot of bit.

I've been sitting here hunched over my laptop researching and writing this newsletter for you. Sometimes this means hours with my head pushed forward.

But I'm paying for it. My freaking neck and back hurt. I mean like the shooting pains with a tension headache on the side.

I'm sure a lot of you can relate. Whether it's at your desk, on a long drive, or scrolling Instagram. 80% of us struggle with neck/back pain at some point.

Check out how forward neck posture can seriously mess you up in our previous bite. Click here.

Here are the steps I'm taking. Make sure to favorite this email so you can refer back to it when you're in pain.

  1. Gently moving my spine in all different directions.

    This helps remind my body that I'm safe to twist, turn, round, and extend.

  2. Resistance training.

    Strengthening the hips and glutes because sitting causes weakness.

  3. Reminder to move.

    I'm setting a timer for every 20 minutes to switch up my position during the day.

I hope these help you and even if you are pain-free right now, prevention is key!

Open Journal

Q: What do you recommend when someone’s experiencing burnout?

A: There are so many reasons why people hit burnout so make sure you tune into your situation specifically. But I'll talk about it from a fitness standpoint. First off, take a break. One week of no workouts isn't going to mess with your progress. Prioritize self-care. Like sleep, diet, and breathing. Before jumping back into your same routine, reevaluate your goals. How can you stay consistent but avoid burnout again?

Learn to Scramble Well(ness):

While eating your lunch, waiting for your lunch, or letting go of your lunch, try our wellness-themed word scramble. It's one word a day, and you can find the answer at the bottom of this newsletter - good luck!

UONTRUB

Did You Know? Like Really Know…

The other day, I was in a rush, trying to get ready and as I was walking through the living room, I stepped right into a sea of blocks my toddler was playing with. They weren’t legos but they still freaking hurt.

It’s like stepping on tiny landmines -if you know, you know!

I couldn't help but jump and scream in pain- yes swear words were involved and yes the kids were laughing. And yes I swore in front of my kids. Sorry, not sorry.

Swearing can make you feel better when you're in pain.

It has some surprising effects on pain tolerance. It increases pain tolerance, raises heart rate, and makes pain feel less intense compared to not swearing.

Swearing triggers a fight-or-flight response, which helps override the connection between fear of pain and how we perceive it. So swear away!

Tidbits & Recipes:

Leafy greens like spinach and kale boost digestion by providing fiber and promoting the growth of healthy gut bacteria.

Eggs are often referred to as "nature's multivitamin" and are highly regarded as a superfood due to their impressive nutritional profile.

So…. let’s do some spinach + eggs for breakfast tomorrow. Try this.

Disclaimer: if you have kids, avoid serving eggs every morning. They’ll put it on the “ban list” and you'll be left struggling to find something healthy to make. Yes, I’m speaking from personal experience. BTW peanut butter is also on the ban list. Send help!

Today’s Top Workout Song on Spotify

Scramble Answer:

BURNOUT

If you made it this far, hi! Don’t forget to share the Flobody Bite to be entered into the Amazon card giveaway. We talked about how at the top of this email.

Reply

or to participate.